Late night farmer’s market supper

corn scambleAfter a long  hot day making jam and then selling jam at the farmers market; shopping and making dinner for my family seemed a daunting task. One of my favorite things is gathering my little family together to cook and enjoy an evening meal, watch a little TV (way too much Food Network) and wind down from our day. Tonight however, I was just exhausted so when the texts came in that everyone was going their own way and I was on my own for dinner, I was not sad.

So what does an over tired woman who has cooked most of the day already make for dinner? I put on my pajamas embarrassingly early and went hunting and gathering in the fridge. One cooked ear of corn leftover from last night’s dinner, a fresh box of farm eggs, some local mild goat cheese; yes that looked like it could be supper. I scrambled the eggs with a little milk, melted butter in a small pan and sautéed the corn for a minute then dumped in the eggs and some crumbled goat cheese. Too lazy to make a pretty omelet, I just swirled the egg around until it was softly set and poured it out on a plate. I remembered that I had bought a baguette at the farmers market so I sliced up a bit of bread to go with my buttery eggs and sat down to a simple, quiet meal. Contented sigh…

Leave a Reply

