Quick & Sweet Pickled Beets

Patti from On the Edge Knife sharpening asked me for a recipe for pickled beets.  There are many for beets and onions but this one draws out the sweet nature of this root vegetable and has converted several non-beet eaters.

Quick and Sweet Pickled Beets
Scrubbed beets (any variety) with tops cut off
4 cups water
1/2 cup cider vinegar
2 tablespoons Kosher Salt
1/4 cup sugar
2 tablespoon black peppercorns
1 cinnamon stick
1 teaspoon allspice berries
1/2 teaspoon lemon zest

Boil the beets until just tender and set aside to cool
Boil the water, vinegar and all the spices and zest for at least 5 minutes and set aside to cool
Slip the jackets off the boiled beets and slice
Place beets in a bowl or jar and cover with the cooled brine.
Keep in the refrigerator
Let pickle at least overnight for best flavor.

4 responses to “Quick & Sweet Pickled Beets

  1. LOVE pickled beets. I ate them all the time growing up. I might need to try this.

  2. Mmm, I love pickled beets. I never thought of this as a dish that I could make — I’m sad to say i always just thought to the old jar in the grocery store.

  3. I had no idea it was so easy to pickle beets! I think I’ll have to try this 🙂

  4. aww Robin I completely missed your new refurbished site. Love your ventured and I wish you much luck and success. Love what you do and you inspire me to jam, pickle and can:) always, Shulie

Leave a Reply

