Vanilla Mint Biscuits

vanilla mint biscuitsMany times over the years I have seen the question posted on garden mailing lists or asked at horticulture lectures; “Is mint easy to grow?”  Veteran gardeners laugh at this and answer with some version of “easy to grow yes; easy to stop growing NO”.  There is a corner of my garden that I have named “the land of ill-behaving plants”.  This is where I sequester the mints, lemon balm, oregano,  and others that hatch evil plans for garden world domination.   Here in their little corner of the world they can stretch out runners and roots and spread all they wish.  In the third year of this garden bed, I have sufficient mint to make Mojitos to sip on the patio for the entire summer and still have plenty for cooking , baking, and drying for winter.
This weekend I picked a bit of the tender mint tops, chopped them and tossed them into the vanilla biscuits recipe I use for strawberry shortcake.  I was a luscious combination and I can’t wait for the strawberry season to begin!
Here is the recipe and I would love to hear any other ideas you have for using my abundance of mint.

Vanilla Mint Drop Biscuits
1 cup flour
1/2 cup buttermilk
1/4 cup butter (melted)
1 tablespoon sugar
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
finely chopped fresh mint

Heat oven to 425 degrees
Mix flour, sugar, baking powder in a bowl
Mix melted butter, buttermilk, and vanilla in a measuring cup or small bowl
Pour buttermilk mixture into flour mixture and stir to combine (do not over mix)
Gently stir in mint
Make six equal mounts of biscuit dough in a round ungreased cakepan and bake for 12-15 minutes until light golden on top and bottom of buscuits

2 responses to “Vanilla Mint Biscuits

  1. Finally. Something to do with all that mint!

  2. I have you bookmarked due to one link or another, and hopped on to see what you’ve got. I’m laughing out loud–that’s exactly what I’ve done in one particular garden bed. Astride my compost I’ve planted raspberries, lemon balm, oregano, mint and strawberries! I’ve got a little more space, so blackberries will soon join them. I figure they all try to take over the world, so either they’ll hold each other back or in 5 years, we’ll know who the winner is!

    Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

