No to the nog no more

eggnog pieIt is practically blasphemy to say it this time of year; but I don’t like eggnog.  A nice frothy homemade batch will do as a conduit for bringing rum to lips, but it is just not my favorite holiday beverage.  A warm mulled wine, cocoa spiked with spirits, or an elegant tall glass of bubbles are more my style for celebrating. 

When my stepdaughter insisted on buying some eggnog at the supermarket, I groaned.  She is the only one in the house who would drink it and as I predicted after sipping a tiny glass, she grew bored with it and moved on to something else. I hated to waste the rest of the container of eggnog so I decided to see if I could bake it into something I would like.

Much of what I don’t like about commercial eggnog is the syrupy sweet flavor and the heavy texture.  I like rich creamy feel in custards but not in drinks so I decided to whip up a custard and offset the sweetness with some farmers cheese.  I am sure ricotta would have worked as well but farmers cheese was what I had on hand and the slighty salty flavor was perfect.

I made a quick basic tart dough (I love Sweet Tart Dough from Fanny Farmer Baking Book, 1984) and chilled it.  Then I put together the filling (recipe below)
and poured it in the chilled shell.  I baked the tart for about 40 minutes at 350 degrees and then let it cool.  Since I had leftover candied citrus and cranberries which I had made for another recipe, I sprinkled them on the tart along with some blanched almonds for extra crunch. 
NOTE: An unbaked pie shell would also work for this recipe as well.

With my first bite, I knew that I would never feel the same about eggnog again.  After my friends devoured slices of my eggnog “pie”, I realized that I might even have to keep some of the previously maligned beverage on hand just for this recipe.  Happy and Delicious New Year to everyone! 

 Egg Nog Pie or Tart Filling
1 cup of eggnog
3 eggs
8 oz farmer cheese
1/3 cup brown sugar
1/4 cup flour
1/4 cup dried currants
2 Tbs Southern Comfort (optional)

Whisk together all ingredients and pour into prepared tart or pie shell

3 responses to “No to the nog no more

  1. What a great idea! I’m not an eggnog lover either, and think this might be a great solution to the leftovers.

  2. Pingback: Tweets that mention No to the nog no more | Doves and Figs -- Topsy.com

  3. While I ADORE egg nog and would never feel the way you do about it, this egg nog pie looks like a great way to finish up the egg nog to start the new year off to a healthier start!

Leave a Reply

