A Gift of Quince

Last Friday night I received a gift of two quinces from my friend Hannah whose mom has a quince tree.  Since I have been making up all kinds of conserve recipes lately, I knew just what I would do with the fruit.   Overnight I left the golden ripe quinces in a basket on the kitchen counter and in the morning the entire room was filled with their fragrance.  It seemed almost a shame to cook them but the results ended up to be delicious.  Below is my recipe for Quince, Fig, and Currant Conserve.  I also made a quick jelly by adding sugar to the cooking liquid and boiling it up to jell. 

Quince, Fig, and Currant Conserve
2 quince, peeled, cored, and cut into 3/4″ cubes
2/3 cup Muscat wine
4-5 dried figs cut in small pieces
1/3 cup dried currants
1 1/2 cups sugar
1 star anise, 4 allspice berries, 1 cinnamon stick in a spice bag

Place quince in a medium saucepan
Pour in wine and enough water to cover fruit
Place filled spice bag in pot
Simmer until fruit is tender and rose-colored, about 45 minutes
Strain liquid and reserve for jelly or syrup
Place fruit back in pot with 3 Tbs of cooking liquid
Add figs and currants
Stir in sugar and cook gently for about 15-20 minutes
Boil for 5 minutes until juice begins to jell
Freeze or can as desired

2 responses to “A Gift of Quince

  1. Yum! This looks Fantastic! I got a quince one time, I was totally enraptured by the scent but had no idea what to do with it! Now I’ll have to try again! Looking forward to brunch on Sunday!

  2. Oh, I am going to have to ask you where to get quince. I looked for it so hard last fall and am beginning to feel hopeful again. I want to make membrillo paste!

Leave a Reply

