Beautiful Backyard Berries

Pink Champagne currants planted last year are bearing pretty little strands of pearls and the wild part of the garden is overflowing with black raspberries.  I have been gathering the fruit all week (trying to stay ahead of the birds) and now it is time to make some jam.   

Out to the garden one more time to gather some herbs and then the canning party begins.  I am testing two new recipes; Currant Mint Jam and Seedless Black Raspberry withPort & Lemon Verbena.  I will be back here later with the results.  Perhaps much later as I may just have to make some pickles as well with the garlic scapes from yesterday’s farmers market.  Once I get going in the kitchen it is hard to stop me.

Leave a Reply

