Strawberry Mint Bread Pudding

Finally back to blogging!  I took a little break to work on my book Bounty of the Seasons but now that the summer farmers market season has begun, I just have to share all of wonders of the market.  Strawberries appeared at the Davis Sq market this week and I could smell them before I even caught a glimpse of the red freckled fruits.  It was wonderful to see my friends at Kimball Fruit Farms again after the winter. 

I picked up a box of berries, some plants for my garden and then, after chatting with several friends that I met along the way, I stuffed a dozen eggs and some semolina bread and brioche into my little red market basket.

When I got home, I ripped the bread apart and left it to dry out a bit in a big bowl.  I then cut the strawberries (one pint) into chunks and soaked them in 1/3 cup port wine for about 15 min.  I then combined 8 eggs,  1 1/2 cups of milk, 1/2 cup sugar, and tsp cinnamon and whisked together well.  I ran out to my garden and cut a big sprig of mint and chopped the leaves.

The berries, wine, egg mixture, and mint were poured over the bread and mixed gently and then dumped into a buttered casserole dish.  It baked for about 50 minutes at 350 degrees.  The gentle warm taste of the bread custard blended perfectly with the sweet berries and the mint kept the flavors lively.

Leave a Reply

