Potato Muffins

My Dad used to make potato puffs as a fancy and easy to serve alternative to mashed potatoes for large dinner parties.  Everyone loved them. 

Over the years, I have adapted the recipe;  adding a sweet potato version, making them with matzoh for passover,  and  baking them in muffin tins rather than scooping them onto a baking tray.  The first time years ago that my best friend’s daughter tried them she called them “potato muffins” and, although they are not really muffins, the name just stuck. 

The basic recipe is white or sweet potatoes mashed with butter and for white potatoes a little milk.  The mashed potatoes are then chilled and mixed with eggs and plain bread crumbs until stiff enough to hold their shape.   Then the real fun begins. 

I mix the sweet potato version with a bit of honey and spices and top with pecans.  Sometimes I mix in a little crushed pineapple and top with cinnamon sugar.

For white potatoes, I add cheddar cheese, sour cream, and a sprinkle of paprika on top.  Sometimes I add wasabi and green onions.  Anything that tastes good in a baked potato would probably work well in your muffins.

This weekend I am making mini potato muffins with bacon and goat cheese for a cocktail party.

I hope you will try these and let me know if you come up with any great new flavors!

Leave a Reply

