Strawberry Stuffed Muffins

alpine strawberries gardenConsidering that we are two months away from strawberry season in New England, I made some pretty darn delicious strawberry vanilla preserves from California berries.  Oh hush my fellow local food lovers!  This would not be something I would ever do when the farmers market and my garden are brimming with the scent of ripe berries but I needed to perfect a recipe for my canning class and pioneer spirited women must make do with what was available.    
Early Tuesday morning I did a baking sprint, preparing muffins, brownies, honey cornbread, and chocolate chip squares for a meeting where I was also presenting.  The way I viewed it, if my talk bored the folks, at least they would be able to munch on tasty treats to quell the ennui. 
I started making the simple buttery muffins that I fill with lemon curd but when I finished the batter I realized that I had run out of homemade curd (someone had eaten the last bit and I am afraid it might just have been me).  I spotted the strawberry jam waiting patiently to be enjoyed and I swept it from the fridge and spooned a bit into each muffin.  The results were splendid!
The meeting resulted in some excellent business conversations and leads and several requests for the recipe for my strawberry jam filled muffins.

Strawberry Stuffed Muffins
1 cup flour
2/3 cup sugar
5 tablespoons butter, melted
2 eggs
1/4 cup milk
1 teaspoon baking powder
pinch of cinnamon
strawberry preserves

Heat oven to 350 degrees
Grease a 12 cup muffin tin or line with paper baking cups
Combine flour, sugar, baking powder, and cinnamon in a large bowl
Mix eggs, milk, cooled melted butter together
Pour egg mixture into dry ingredients, mix until combined but do not over mix
Let batter stand for five minutes and then scoop into prepared muffin tin
Tuck about a teaspoon of strawberry preserves into each muffin
Bake for about 20 minutes until risen and light brown around edges
Serve warm or cool

2 responses to “Strawberry Stuffed Muffins

  1. What a delightful surprise in each muffin!

  2. Strawberry stuffed muffins sound delicious and so summery!

Leave a Reply

