Cocoa Dusted Candied Bacon

For Cupcake Camp Boston a while ago, I made Farmers Market Fudgecakes and tossed candied bacon sprinkles on top of the butter cream.  As I worked in the kitchen I kept nibbling the bacon bits.  I realized that this bacon candy was so delicious, it did not need to take a back seat to baked goods but I did like the hint of chocolate the cupcakes lent to it.  What if I…hmmm…candied bacon, just a sprinkle of cocoa…yum!

Below is the recipe for my Cocoa Dusted Candied Bacon.  I used bacon from Chestnut Farm and Scharffen Berger Unsweetened Cocoa.  Might just have to make some for Scharffen Berger’s upcoming cupcake contest and of course a little extra for snacking.

6 strips Uncured Smoked Bacon or bacon ends
2-3 Tbs Sugar
1 tsp Scharffen Berger Unsweetened Cocoa (sifted)

Heat oven to 325
Place bacon on baking rack placed in a shallow foil-lined pan
Cook until edges are crisp
Turn bacon and coat lightly with sugar cook until very crisp
Remove from oven to paper towels or brown paper
Dust immediately with cocoa
Crumble bacon and sprinkle onto frosted cupcakes

Leave a Reply

